Candy Wrapper Flowers

Hi everyone! Once upon a time I went to a parade with my family.  The people in the parade were throwing candy to everyone, I saved all of the non-ripped wrappers for DIYs. As I was looking through YouTube for candy wrapper DIYs I came across this:

DIY Starburst Wrapper Flowers

So I thought it would be a perfict DIY because it’s spring and close to Earth Day. I know the DIY said to use Starburst wrappers, I didn’t have those, so I used what I had on hand. But it wasn’t enough 😦

Nooooooooo! :c

Nooooooooo! :c

I tried again with gum wrappers. For the center, I couldn’t find a button that I liked, so I used a single earring (I lost the match) instead, and it turned out cuter (in my opinion).

...Ta da.

Oh shiny!

Now I couldn’t decide whether to make it a brooch or a hair clip. So, I simply glued a piece of felt to the back of the flower, glued on a hair clip, added on a safety-pin and added some more felt on top of it to reenforce it. 2 birds 1 stone.

This is SO cute and I am definitely going to make more. I think it is a cool way to recycle and make a nice accessory. You can also add old or broken pieces of jewelery to the center of the flower like I did.

This is Megisha signing off… For now ( Mwa ha ha) >:D

3 Comments

  1. I like the shiny! What I particularly like about this one is that you can wear it in your hair or on a jacket or shirt. I think I am going to try this with scraps of material. I always end up with bit and pieces of material. If I cut them into rectangles the size of gum wrappers I think it would work. I think it would make a cool flower to wear on a denim jacket. Thanks for another great idea. Love, Aunt Dena

  2. Pingback: Earth Day Special | The Branch

  3. Pingback: Candy Wrapper Caft-athon!!! | The Branch

Leave a Reply

