Easter Egg Ornaments

Hello everyone. It’s Easter! So near the beginning of my blog my top commenter/visitor asked me if I could do any German crafts since I live here. Unfortunately the only things I could find were either paper cutouts crafts (Dresden paper craft) or traditional beer recipes. Finally I found something but it was for Christmas and that is WAY too far to the end of the year :^[

Recently I found out about a traditional craft because it was all over my village. It’s like decorating your tree for Christmas, only outside and with egg ornaments.  Now I apologise if the lighting is weird but I took the photos for the tutorial at different times of the day.

Need: White paint, a paint brush, a cup filled with water (or some rubbing alcohol and a Q-tip – because my eggs had a stamp on them), a couple of raw eggs, a straight pin, some hot glue, some wire, some ribbon (or string) and what you want to decorate your eggs with (glitter glue, paint, pens), some wire, a wire cutter, a plastic cup, scissors and a place to hang them up.

1. Use the rubbing alcohol and Q-tip to rub off the ink.

Rub rub rub.

Rub rub rub.

But if you are having trouble with rubbing the ink off (or impatient like me) then use the white paint to cover it up.

Layer by layer.

Layer by layer.

2. If you are a kid like me then you would like an adult to help you with these next few steps.  When your egg is done drying take it into the kitchen along with your cup and sewing pin and poke a hole through the top but be careful, eggs are delicate but tough when you try to poke a hole in it.

Little baby hole.

Little baby hole.

3. This step will make step 5 easier. Stick your pin all the way into the egg, rotate it around a few times and shake it like crazy!

Shake it like a maraka!

Shake it like a maraka!

4. Now poke a bigger hole in the opposite part of the egg.

An even bigger hole.

An even bigger hole.

5. Now this step is kind off hard, you have to blow really hard through the small hole so that the innards come out of the bigger one.

I vant to suck it's youlk! Ble ble ble!

I vant to drain it of its youlk! Ble ble ble!

6. Now that your done rinse off your egg, dry it off and set it in your egg carton.

Rinse.

Rinse.

Dry.

Dry.

Sit.

Sit.

7. While your eggs are drying take your wire and wire cutters and cut off a little bit of the wire off.

Snip.

Snip.

8. Take your wire and twist it into a shape like this and snip off the excess. Set it aside for later.

I made the loop by bending it onto my finger then twisting the rest.

I made the loop by bending it onto my finger then twisting the rest.

Wait a minute! What about the egg’s innards? Well you can be crazy and waste it…

Noooo!

Noooo!

…Or you can use it to make french crepes like any sane person would. I mean, it’s not like a puffer fish where you have to do it exactly as the instructions or you die (personal, I think it’s ridiculous to eat something that hazardous to your health), if anything, it saves waste from the trash and I like being “green”. Besides, how can you resist THIS?

Besides, how can you resist THIS?

Mmmmmmmmm.

9. Now back to business, this is the fun part because you get to decorate your eggs! Now if you want to dye them like normal Easter eggs then you need to hold them down because hollow eggs float. And if you used paint then that part wont take egg dye…

But that just makes it interesting.

I don’t know, it makes it interesting.

…Or you can decorate it with a pen like this one…

Peace.

Peace.

…Or draw a goofy face…

I think I broke something!

I think I broke something!

…Or you can try unexpected things…

Tinsle.

Tinsley.

…OR you can paint it.

I covered the other half with tape.

I covered the other half with tape.

10. When you are done decorating add some hot glue to the top of the egg.

It looks like some of the egg whites didn't get washed off.

It looks like some of the egg whites didn’t get washed off.

11. Now quickly slide the wire, hook, thingy into your hole and add more glue to secure it.

I'm supprised how I got these photos taken before the glue dride.

I’m surprised how I got these photos taken before the glue dried.

12. After the hot glue dries completely, take your ribbon and slide it through your hook and tie a knot.

Ohhh festive!

Ohhh festive!

13. Trim off the excess.

Snip.

Snip.

Now I didn’t have enough for the tree in our backyard so I added them around the house.

The shoe holder.

The shoe holder.

The door onto the 2nd floor.

The door.

Wow this was a lot of fun to do. There are unlimited possibilities for this project, my tutorial was just the tip of the spear. I can’t wait for Easter. See you later!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

