Pumpkin Candle Holders

So when it was time to harvest our gardens crops, I noticed just how many pumpkins and gourds we grew (gourds are miniature pumpkins)! I mean, we filled a huge basket full of them and put it outside for decor, and there were so many still left in the shed! It would be a shame to just let them rot! There were so many ideas I wanted to try, this was the first one I did.

Need: Small pumpkins (or gourds), a knife, a small candle that you’ll like to use, a pen, a spoon and the kitchen sink (har har, you know, the joke, everything but the kitchen sink?)!

1. Wash your gourds and dry them off.

2. Place the candle over the top of your gourd and trace around it with your marker.

Like this.

Like this.

3. (This is the part when my mom insists on orders me to let her do it so I don’t accidentally cut myself.  CAREFULLY carve out your gourd.

Doing this makes it a lot easier.

Doing this makes it a lot easier.

4. Here, you’ll hollow out your gourd with your spoon

Try to ignore the messy background.

Try to ignore the messy background.

5. Now see if your candle will fit. If not, use your spoon to slowly carve off more of the gourd and see if it fits. But be careful! You don’t want it to fall into the gourd itself!

 Ok, I forgot to make an after photo, I’ll make some more and take a photo when the candles are lit and post. Now when you’re satisfied with your gourd, turn the lights off, light the candle, turn an audio book, sit down and watch the candle flicker into the evening as you enjoy your story and slowly drift into, ZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…

Green Tip

 Ok, I know my “green tips” are mainly about how to help the environment but I think this can make you change how you use the internet (and hand over your socks!!!). 

Socktober!!!

1 Comment

  1. I love these, I have made a lot of candle holders like this, I have even used big pumpkins to make flower arrangements in. I do have one hint for you. Once you cut the gourds and pumpkins they want to grow mold and rot. After you cut the hole, dip the entire gourd in some some bleach water (about a tablespoon of bleach to a half gallon of water). It will slow down the rotting. You can do this with jack-o-lanterns as well. Love, Aunt Dena

Leave a Reply

