Rainbow Easter Cupcakes :^c]

Hi everyone! I hope you all had a a HOP-y Easter! (thumbs up for cheesy jokes!) Ever since I’ve seen this video, which teaches you how to bake a rainbow inside a cupcake, (WHAAAAT!?!) I’ve been waiting for the perfect excuse to make them. So when Easter came around…

This happened

The only thing I did differently was use homemade cake filling for the outside. I’m not the biggest fan of store bought cake mix :^P.

Tada!

Tada!

I didn't make the lines as perfect as they did in the video, but I did OK.

I didn’t make the lines as perfect as they did in the video, but I did OK.

I had some leftover, so I'm making a cake also!

I had some leftover, so I’m making a cake also!

Baking, baking, baakkiinngg...

Baking, baking, baakkiinngg…

This is what it actually looked like. No bad photos here.

This is what it actually looked like.

So I cut off the top...

So I cut off the top…

Shizam!

Shizam!

Unfortunately, the rainbows floated up to the top with this batch. :^[

Unfortunately, the rainbows floated up to the top with this batch. :^[  The rainbow cake was thawed by the time I baked it in the cupcakes.  I wonder if that had anything to do with them floating?

My parents suggested doing it flat ways and stacking two up top.

My parents suggested doing it flat ways and stacking two up top.

It turned out a LOT better. :^)

It turned out a LOT better. :^)

It was way past bedtime when I finished making these, so I set these out on a rack to cool and put the decorating off for the morning.

In the morning, I made the frosting. Here’s what you’ll need.

I originally wanted to hand mix it, but I decided to use an electric mixer instead.

I originally wanted to hand mix it, but I decided to use an electric mixer instead.

               Need:

  1. 4 to 6 teaspoons of milk.
  2. 1 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract.
  3. A stick of butter (at room temperature)
  4. 16 ounces (a box) of confectioner’s sugar.
  5. An electric mixer.
  6. Some coconut (I forgot to add the coconut and bird’s eggs in the photo).
  7. A couple of bird’s eggs (not real ones!).

1. Mix your butter before adding your other ingredients. Add in your confectioner’s sugar a spoonful at a time (You don’t want to have it snowing indoors).

2. Add your green food dye.

3. Toast some of your coconut until it’s a nice brownish color (be sure to mix it very often, or it’ll BURN!). Let it cool completely before use.

Before...

Before…

After.

After.

4. Frost your cupcakes.

5. Now start “patting” the frosting with your butter knife.

It looks like grass.

It’ll make it look like grass.

6. Make a little nest out of your coconut, but not too much. You’ll can add more later.

You'll add more latter.

7. Dab a little of your leftover frosting onto the bottom of your egg, then plant it into the middle of your cupcake.

4. Repeat with the other two eggs, then add more coconut to cover up any spaces you want.

Tada!

Tada!

This s how my cake turned out.

This is how my cake turned out.

After I finished, we cleaned up the house, and had a little Easter party with some friends. This was all that was left of my cake/cupcakes.

Just a smudge of cake, and one little cupcake... >Burp<

Just a smudge of cake, and one little cupcake. I wonder where they went… Burp!

They were really yummy, and I hope you’ll get the chance to make some! My favorite part is the little surprise on the inside :^) Have fun!

Green Tip

Springtime! The perfect time to start a garden. Compost is essential, and making your own is better then buying store bought. We already have a compost bin in our backyard, but here’s a video for how to make your own! (Click here)

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

