Top it Off Top Hat!

Raise your hand up if you know about steampunk.

I do.

I do. (The expresion on her face is priceless!)

Keep your hand up if your into steampunk.

I do.

I do.

If your hand’s still up, hooray!

  Recently, I have been obsessed with the wonderful world of steam, and I have been trying to find ways to show it in my wardrobe. Unfortunately, I’m not anywhere near as advanced as I need to be in sewing, so I can’t make anything like these beauts.

Keep prancing Lindsey!

Keep prancing Lindsey! (Prancing: dancing and playing a musical instrument at the same time)

So for now, I’m going to go in the “accessories” approach.

Steampunk Top Hat

For this DIY, I followed the instructions on this video.

Mini Top Hat

Here are some photos of the hat making process.

I used a part of a cereal box to make the base.

I used a part of a cereal box to make the base.

We didn't have any card stock, so I used a blank card. (They're the same stuff right?)

We didn’t have any card stock, so I used a blank card. (They’re the same stuff right?)

I used duct tape. No one's going to see it underneath the fabric!

I used duct tape. No one’s going to see it underneath the fabric!

Hot glue.

Hot glue.

The top is a little uneven, but that's the beauty of it!

The top is a little uneven, but that’s the beauty of it!

While I waited for the glue to dry, I joined my family watching a Tinker Bell movie.

While I waited for the glue to dry, I joined my family watching a Tinker Bell movie.

Feathers.

Feathers.

I then  finished gluing on the bottom part of the hat, added my ribbon, and more steampunk features. Just in case you think it means gluing on gears, then no.

Just Glue Some Gears On It

The most agonizing part was, I had to wait overnight for it to dry. :^c But it gave me some time to do more research for more steampunk DIYs and inspiration!

My sister's creepy unicorn is the head model. (Don't judge!)

My sister’s creepy unicorn is the head model. (Don’t judge!)

Here’s a closer look.

Closer.

Fancy.

Fancy.

This is my favorite handmade accessory ever! I’ll definitely be making more. ;^J If you want more mini hats, here’s a link to a tutorial on how to make them out of bottle caps and cardboard.

Mini mini Top Hats

Be prepared for more steampunk in the future! ;^)

Green Tip

After using any electronics that need to be plugged in, pull the plug out. Even if you turn it off, the plug will still guzzle up energy.

UPDATE (8/3/15)

Since this hat is steampunk themed, I swapped the penny for a British coin.

And I also made a white hat with pink lace, a teacup, and a teapot!

:^)

:^)

2 Comments

  1. Hey Meg, I love steampunk and I love your hat. I have made a lot of steampunk cards and ATC’s. I’ve been gathering stuff to make a steampunk baby doll. Uncle Roger and I even went and saw a band from San Francisco that was all dressed in steampunk clothing. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

