Relaxing Exfoliating Facial Wash

Hi guys! Sorry about the large gap, my family and I have just started school (Yay!) and it’s taking a while to find some spare time for blogging.

Anyway, a few days ago, I ran out of my fancy-smancy facial wash. Now, being an overreactive environmentalist (if I do say so myself) I didn’t want to go to the store to buy something that can easily be made at home and make a bigger carbon footprint. So I quickly searched for a good, environmentally friendly recipe for face wash. This is what I settled on.

         Need:

  1. 1 cup of sugar
  2. 10 tablespoons olive oil
  3. 3tablespoons epson salt
  4. 2 teaspoons honey
  5. 3 green tea bags
  6. 1 lemon to zest
  7. Grater
  8. Large mixing bowl
  9. Smaller bowl (for the lemon zest)
  10. container

Let’s get started!

Step 1:

Grate your lemon rind into a small bowl and set aside the zest.

SUPPER IMPORTANT INFO: Do NOT grate the white part of the lemon, you don't want any juice leaking out.

SUPPER IMPORTANT INFO: Do NOT grate the white part of the lemon.

Step 2:

In a large mixing bowl, combine the sugar, epson salt, and tea (carefully rip open the tea bags and dump the tea leaves in).

I thought it was a smart idea to take photos of what it looked like when you mixed the ingredients in.

I thought it was a smart idea to take photos of what it looked like when you mixed the ingredients in.

Step 3:

Add in your olive oil and mix. It’s not going to be completely mixed in until latter so don’t worry.

Step 4:

Put in the honey and mix .

Step 5:

Mix in the lemon zest.

Step 6:

Once everything’s evenly mixed, place the mixture inside your container. I used a canning jar my mom didn’t use when she made jam.

Ta-da!

Ta-da!

  I really like this project, it’s relaxing, exfoliating, and it’s eco-friendly. You can also use this anywhere, I recommend scrubbing it into dry elbows, since this stuff works really well as a moistener.

  However, you absolutely CANNOT get the stuff you’re not using get wet. It’ll harden, and’ll be extremely difficult to clean out, other then that, it’s perfect! This stuff will go great as a gift for holidays, so double the batch so you’ll have enough for yourself and a friend!

Green Tip

Before you buy bathroom products that claim to be “eco-friendly” or “organic”, read the ingredients, research the company that manufactures the stuff, then you’ll know if it’s “organic”.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

