Facorns (Fabric Acorns)

Acorns. Man, who doesn’t love em’? They’re tiny, cute, and hold the power to create a huge tree inside their tiny shells! When I was eight years old, I would cram as many acorns into my pockets whenever I stumbled across an acorn tree, then empty them into jars once I got home.

The jars disappeared, as well as my habits of collecting acorns, as the years progressed, but I never creased to enjoy their natural beauty. Finally, a couple weeks ago, when those little suckers started falling from the trees, I began to collect them again. Pretty soon, I started finding them everywhere, falling out of my coat pockets, and littered all over my room. I contemplated what I should do with them, then I found a small pile of acorn tops missing their bottoms.

I had a “Uricka!” moment, took out some scrap fabric, and came up with this.

These are really easy and fun to make! Here’s what you’ll need.

  1. Some scrap fabric.
  2. A sewing needle.
  3. Some matching thread.
  4. A pair of scissors.
  5. An acorn cap. (To make sure it doesn’t start to decompose, store your acorn caps in a dry area for several days before use. This’ll remove any moisture that might still be there.)
  6. Your trusty hot glue gun.
  7. A sewing pin.
  8. A pen.
  9. Pillow stuffing.

Let’s get started!

Step 1.

fold your fabric in half, put the acorn cap on top, then take your pen and draw a loose acorn shape around it. Be sure to make it a little bigger then you want your actual acorn to be.

Step 2.

Take your sewing pin and put it through your fabric. Then, take your scissors and cut along the lines.

Step 3.

Thread your needle and sew around the perimeter.

Step 4.

Take out your pin, then turn the fabric right side out.

Step 5.

Stuff your facorn with pillow stuffing.

Step 6.

I had fun taking this picture.

I had fun taking this picture.

Re-thread your sewing needle and sew the opening shut.

Step 7.

Fill the acorn cap with hot glue, then quickly put your facorn into the cap before the hot glue can cool.

And you’re done!

Tada!

Tada!

The background is a miniature door I got for a birthday present.

Now that you’ve mastered the technique, why not make a couple dozen?

Now comes the hard part, finding out what exactly to do with them! Decided to turn one of them into a removable button and attach it to one of my hats.

Tada!

What ideas will you come up with for using the facorns? Let me know in the comment section!

Green Tip

Just because it’s getting colder doesn’t mean you need to turn the heater up! Keep them as low as possible, then open all of your windows to let sunlight and warmth inside and bundle up!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

